1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Welcome to Pokemon Perfect, Guest!

    Our motto is Pokémon Practice makes Pokémon Perfect. We are a competitive-battling community that encourages the development of players and their ideas, and fosters positive and respectful attitudes. We love Collaboration (working together), Competition (getting stronger), and Communication (being informed).

    You are free to post everywhere, unless the thread explicitly states otherwise (usually in the case of a vote), and there are no private forums whatsoever. We just require you to not make multiple accounts. Let us greet you by posting a thread in the Introduce Yourself! forum.

  3. Tiers

    View Introduction to Tiers if you don't know what tiers are. Pokémon Perfect tiers are named differently to those on Smogon. A numeral followed by the letter U, e.g. 1U, 2U, 3U, represents a main tier on Pokémon Perfect – the '1' of '1U' representing the tier level. For a tier to be a main tier, it must be balanced (nothing is too powerful and game-breaking) and diverse enough (include a variety of Pokémon and strategies). A numeral followed by the letter P, e.g. 1P, 2P, 3P contain all Pokémon that are deemed overpowered in the respective 1U, 2U, 3U tiers. The 1st tier level allows Pokémon that are banned in the 2nd level, and this process continues down. Read the tier list, and in-depth explanations of the tiers naming system and tiering system. Also check out our analyses for all tiers.

  4. Tournaments

    RBY 1U Seasons and its master tournaments are responsible for starting up the community, and tournaments continue to play a big role in maintaining interest in the forums. Signups Open gives you a list of tournaments you can join, and Ongoing lists tournaments that you might want to follow. Additionally, you can tap to find out approximate Schedules for tournaments.

    For historical threads, check out Signups Closed, Finished tournaments and Results. We also have Nominations, Voting and Event threads for exhibitions – past and present.

All Gens Tiering Nomenclature

Discussion in 'Tiers' started by Lutra, Jul 25, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Lutra

    Lutra Site Founder Owner

    Nov 2, 2011
    Likes Received:
    The Pokémon Perfect Tiering Nomenclature is made up of 6 parts:

    Tiering System(Sub)GenerationTier SetTier LevelTier StageTier Label
    Pokemon PerfectRBYStandard1U(Universal)
    • The Tiering System usually refers to the Community to whom the tier belongs. This is usually ommitted when referring to a tier if the context is clear. Other communities use different Tiering Systems and as a consequence it might not be either possible or sensible to describe their tiers in the same format as we do here.
    • Sub(Generation) refers to the specific set of game mechanics used. A Generation's mechanics usually refers to the game mechanics of the latest released main series game (not Stadium or XD), while the specific game or SubGeneration is always named in the case of the Stadium or XD classes of Tier Sets.
    • The Tier Set refers to the chosen restrictions on a battle mode, that defines the overall rules, which are inherited through tier levels. When referring to a tier, the Tier Set is usually omitted when it is Standard. The Standard tier set follows main series cartridge mechanics and allows standard legal sets of that generation without additional limitations imposed that are not for balance or diversity-related reasons, and is played in Singles. Other examples of Tier Sets include Little Cup (LC), Doubles, No Wrap, Hackmons and others.
    • The Tier Level numeral represents the nth tier level in a tier set. Each new lower tier level forms from a broad cut-off of what is viable in the existing higher Tier Level e.g. RBY 1, or RBY 2 (ban transitivity from RBY 1), RBY 3 (ban transitivity from RBY 2).
    • The Tier Stage Letter differentiates one Stage from another in a Tier Level - i.e. higher stages have fewer bans and therefore are less developed tiers than their lower counterparts e.g. RBY 1P compared to RBY 1U.
      • A is reserved for the alpha stage of tiering, or Anything Goes in tier level 1.
      • B,C, D... then follow on with more and more bans.
      • P is reserved for traditional tiers such as RBY Ubers and BL where no higher Pokémon are banned (the primal stage/tier of the tier level).
      • Q, R, S... are tiers in between the traditional broken and main tiers where less broken Pokémon are banned.
      • U is reserved for the main tier, or 'Used tier' of the tier level.
      • V, W, X... explore alternate tiers where Pokémon could be banned.
      • The initial order of existence is A, then B...If a balanced tier is finalised in a tier without any additional bans, A will be renamed to U. If there are Pokémon bans, a P tier will be formed. If there are more than one set of bans, the other letters will be used.
    • The Tier Labels are displayed within brackets. Tier Stages that have a player base are labelled as Tiers. These names are aimed at increasing clarity to those familiar with a separate Tier System.
      • Main tiers follow this labelling system within every tier set:
        • 1U = OverUsed = OU
        • 2U = UnderUsed = UU
        • 3U = UnderUnderUsed = UUU
      • The number of Us in the main tier label corresponds to the tier's level.
      • The tier label for the first stage of the first tier level is Anything Goes (the chaos tier in which all other tiers in the set inherit bans from).
      • Other broken tiers are either referred to as Ubers/BL, or based on the Pokémon they allow, such as RBY Mewbers.
      • The tiers for the first tier stages in a level otherwise have alpha, beta, gamma... appended to the main tier label to convey the progression of the main tier as it is balanced stage by stage.
    Example Tier List:

    XYZ 1A (Anything Goes) <-- Tier level 1 alpha stage (no bans)
    XYZ 1P (Ubers) <-- Tier level 1 primal stage (no Pokémon bans)
    XYZ 1U (OverUsed) <-- Tier Level 1 main tier (balanced stage)
    XYZ 2P (BL) <-- Tier Level 2 primal stage (no non-inherited Pokémon bans)
    XYZ 2U (UnderUsed) <-- Tier level 2 main tier (balanced stage)
    XYZ 3P (BL2) <-- Tier level 3 primal stage (no non-inherited Pokémon ban)
    XYZ 3U (UnderUU) <-- Tier level 3 main tier (balanced stage)
    XYZ 4A (Under3U Alpha) <-- Tier level 4 first stage
    XYZ 4B (Under3U Beta) <-- Tier level 4 second stage

    For more detailed description on some of the concepts, see Tiers Jargon.
    Last edited: Jan 24, 2017
    TerrakionSmash and Disaster Area like this.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page